Violet – 17 months

I’m fairly certain it was just about forever ago now that I promised individual updates on Violet and Oriana. I’ve taken a bit of a break from blogging; I just didn’t have the energy or motivation. I have recharged my batteries a bit and am ready to dive back in; I’m hoping that lasts. So, Miss Violet. She has just started standing without holding onto anything over the past couple of weeks. Over the past few days, she has taken three or four baby steps without holding onto anything! For the most part, she cruises around the house holding onto anything she can reach and if she really needs to move fast, she crawls. The girl can stretch out and reach just about anything she puts her mind to, which is fun (for example, I looked away for a minute the other day to check on Oriana, and Violet managed to reach up and pull my bowl of tomato soup down all over herself, me, and the kitchen floor). In December the pediatrician gave us the ok to get Violet off formula. Violet prefers actual food anyways, so she has no complaints in this department. She can use a sippy cup, but she still prefers a bottle at mealtime. If you attempt to give her a sippy cup at meals, she will promptly throw a fit because we drink from bottles with our meals. She’s perfectly happy using a sippy cup for snacks and the rest of the day though. She still loves anything she can feed herself. I have attempted to let her use a spoon a few times; she’s not quite there yet, but I imagine she will be absolutely thrilled once she figures it out. Violet’s got a great giggle and smile; she thinks she’s hilarious most of the time. She loves to squeal. She babbles quite a bit and says dada and mama and occasionally a baba. She loves to play peek-a-boo. She hates wearing shoes, she immediately starts taking her shoes off the second I turn away. Ryan says she is more and more like me every day. Sometimes, it is so strange to have this little person that looks so much like me and sometimes acts so much like me. Generally speaking, she’s doing great; we just recently had a NICU follow-up clinic appointment and they had no concerns about her development. Her big attitude in such a little person is a bit of a challenge some days, but she makes up for it with her adorable smile.

20151224_171041
Christmas Eve. She looks totally unimpressed.
20160108_191433
Being silly. I put that bucket on her head once, and now she does it all the time.
20151221_155159
That smile is the best. Straight up ornery.

20160102_125501

Published by

cmathes10

Mommy to 4 little girls & 2 fur babies. Just trying to survive the crazy. Sometimes I laugh, sometimes I cry, sometimes I need to scream.

Leave a Reply

