Having 3 babies is…

Everyone always wants to know what it is like to have 3 babies. I’m here to answer that question for you. So here goes. Having multiples is:

  • Having everyone stare at you as you take your 3 kids and 2 dogs for a walk. (No seriously, I’m surprised some people don’t wreck their cars).
  • People assuming that it is impossible that you are out alone with 3 babies. (I mean, don’t I have help? And don’t I need help from random strangers)?
  • Getting 1 or 2 of them settled down, and the 3rd starts throwing a fit, which starts the other 2 all over again.
  • A constant version of “I want what she has” and “she touched me”! (Even though they can’t even talk yet).
  • Not being able to fit the giant stroller that will hold all 3 of them in your giant vehicle. (I have to take the double and a single stroller; or if it is just me the double stroller and a carrier; or I have to switch cars with Daddy because his car will fit the big stroller).
  • Needing an extra 20 minutes to put the babies and all the baby paraphernalia in the car.
  • Praying that they will all nap together at least once during the day so that you can get something done. (Or, more likely, so you can take a short nap because these kids are exhausting).
  • Having a house that constantly looks like an F5 tornado just rolled through.
  • Being covered in baby puke, slobber, and/or food at the end of day. (Who am I kidding? The beginning of every day).
  • Trying to figure out if there is a way you can hold 3 babies at a time, because everyone wants Mommy and you are by yourself. (Even if someone else is there, everyone still wants Mommy).
  • And then they learn to crawl and climb, which means they can chase you and climb all over you all day!
  • Accepting that nothing, nothing, is simple or ever will be again.
  • Dragging them all to therapy/doctor appointments, even though the appointment is only for one of them, and just hoping and praying that they will behave while you are there. (Or at least not have a complete breakdown).
  • Realizing you can’t even remember when the last time was that you actually felt rested.
  • When they first came home, it was feeding them every 3 hours around the clock, and falling asleep while feeding them in the middle of the night more times than I can count.
  • Wanting to sit in the corner and cry because all 3 babies are crying and screaming for no apparent reason.
  • Being constantly stopped when out in public so people can see your babies and ask you a million questions. (Doesn’t matter if you are trying to get somewhere or running late. Nope, you are a spectacle).
  • Being asked the same questions over and over again by random strangers (Yes, they are triplets. Yes, they are all girls. No, they are not identical. Yes, we did fertility treatments. Addison, Violet, Oriana. Yes, they keep me busy. I do it because I don’t have much choice. Yes I have help.…Blah, blah, blah).
  • Weighing whether or not it is worth it, or you feel like you can handle, taking them out in public (see previous two bullet points; don’t get me wrong, I know it is awesome and rare and people mean well, but I literally have the same conversations over and over again. It gets old and sometimes, I would just like to move on with my day and go about my business).
  • Having constant entertainment (because these kids are goofy; they get it from their dada).
  • Basically living in a state of somewhat organized chaos and having 3 little girls that pretty much run the house.
  • Never going to the bathroom by yourself again (who am I kidding, I haven’t been to the bathroom by myself in years anyways, Jackson insists on being with me so I don’t escape out the window. Now I just have 2 babies and 2 dogs following me).
  • Getting one baby out of something she shouldn’t be in or taking something away that she shouldn’t have, just to turn around and find the other one attempting to eat dog food.
  • Giggles, lots of giggles.
  • Going through formula and baby food faster than you ever thought possible.
  • Trying to comfort 3 babies at the same time after they all got shots.
  • Dealing with 3 cranky babies due to teething or shots.
  • Getting far too much attention and far too many stares everywhere you go.
  • Feeling like a zookeeper trying to control a bunch of monkeys.
  • Really, it is mostly just multiplying what it is like to have one baby by 3!

It is not all bad. I wouldn’t trade these little girls for anything. They make me happy, they make me laugh, and sometimes, they make me cry and question my sanity. I love them with all my heart. I wonder how I ever thought I was busy before I had them! Sometimes there is not a lot I wouldn’t do to get a break, but my crazy little monkeys make my life complete.

About cmathes10

Mommy to 4 little girls & 2 fur babies. Just trying to survive the crazy. Sometimes I laugh, sometimes I cry, sometimes I need to scream.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

