26 Weeks

Our girls were born at 26 weeks (and 6 days!) gestation. (I was really hoping to make it to 30 weeks, but they had other plans). I posted this picture on my facebook, but I wanted to put it here too, just to help people understand a little bit about what it is like to have a baby born that premature. Every word of this is very true. Reading it takes me back to when our girls were born and how they responded to stimuli, how tiny they were, and how much medical equipment/attention they needed. When I think back to when they were born, it is incredible to me that they are almost a year old and are getting so big and doing so much! We had the amazing opportunity to watch our babies grow and develop outside the womb. It has been awesome to watch them come so far. I will never forget our experiences in the NICU. It was terrifying, stressful, exhausting, and amazing all at the same time.

You can find Peek A Boo ICU on facebook or at http://www.peekabooicu.net/

They have tons of great information about preemies and the NICU and it’s a great place to find support.

Published by

cmathes10

Mommy to 4 little girls & 2 fur babies. Just trying to survive the crazy. Sometimes I laugh, sometimes I cry, sometimes I need to scream.

Leave a Reply

